Skip to content

Long Beach Alumnae Chapter became the 763rd chapter of the Sorority and was chartered by thirty-one visionary members in Long Beach on February 23, 1986. The Long Beach Alumnae Chapter has been dedicated to providing public service for over 30 years to the greater Long Beach area which includes: Long Beach, Lakewood, Signal Hill, and Paramount and sharing Seal Beach, Bellflower, and Los Alamitos.

Our membership is comprised of over 80 members who are diverse in age, background, skills and profession; but we all share the common bond of Sisterhood, Scholarship, Service, and Social Action.


Virginia Brown Barnes • Charlotte Berry • June Cloudy Bolden • Shern Andrea Bonner • Shirley Bowman • Margaret Ophelia Brown • Martha Carroll Dauway Shirley Broyles Dye • Gertrude Moore Hawkins • Stephanie T. Hawkins Patricia Owens Hill • Patrice Slaughter-Jernigan • Julie Hamilton Johnson Patricia Ann Lee • Clarissa Manuel • Shirley Crowe-Massey Joan Hamlin Matthews • Cheryl Blair Melton • Ruby Mims Donna Elaine Morris • Marietta Summers Palmer • Geneva Green Ray • Eugenia Gaston Reeves • Evelyn Robertson • Doris Cooper Robinson • Genevieve Trotter White • Sabrina Whitten • Marilyn Williams Mary Walker-Wilton • Verna Thompson Winston • Marsha Woods


Charlotte V. Berry Dedication Award

In 2001, Brandi Jones, past chapter president, implemented the Charlotte V. Berry Dedication Award. This prestigious award was established to honor members of Long Beach Alumnae Chapter who go above and beyond the call of duty in the name of Delta. These members epitomize a Delta woman and serve as a role model for all. She truly exudes Scholarship, Sisterhood and Service.

Past Award Recipients:

2001 Charlotte Berry
2002 Clarissa Manuel
2003 Karen Rotan
2004 Maleika Walker
2005 Adriene Gray
2006 Denise Dowdy
2007 Clairessa Spencer
2008 Shaune Kelly

2009 Jade Allen
2010 Debbie Craig
2011 Phyllis Venable
2012 Simona Hollins
2013 Dominique Bell
2014 Cheryl Joy
2015 Sharon Black
2016 Sharon Laney

2017 Christina Grant
2018 LaTierra Quamina
2019 Nicole Ussery
2020 Kris Owens
2021 Lisa Benbow
2022 Diana Stephens
2023 Shanetta Weatherspoon